What I’m Spinning – D’You Know What I Mean?

“Comin’ in a mess, goin’ out in style…”

image

Up until about twelve hours ago, I had planned on sharing something else entirely, a bluesy rock album I’d been grooving to all weekend. But then, as they’re wont to do, the Gallagher brothers happened. I didn’t feel the urge to go on an Oasis-driven binge when news broke over the weekend of Noel’s new album being released in November, but of course Liam would have to one-up his brother a day later by playing his first solo gig in years. So there I was, inundated on social media by a barrage of clips from the show, which I (of course) had to watch. You already know that, while I love what Noel’s done since Oasis disbanded, I’m not a fan of Liam’s. It’s one thing to be cocksure and arrogant when you’ve got something to back it up, which Noel did and does; Liam, on the other hand, did not. Their solo projects highlighted just how much of Oasis’s success can be laid at Noel’s feet. Liam was just the voice.

(How I imagine Liam’s participation in Oasis’s creative process.)

BUT. What a voice! That whine, that sneering distain. Could there have been a better signature for the band or the music or the era? And that’s why it’s a damned shame that, with typical Gallagher brother self-importance, living the stereotypical rock ‘n’ roll lifestyle for twenty-five years, he squandered it. He sounds nothing like he did even a decade ago.

But that didn’t stop the chills from racing up my spine when I heard him resurrect this, my favorite Oasis song, last night.

The chills turned into goosebumps that spread across my whole body when I listened to the original version for the first time in a long time. Forget Noel’s remastered take from last year – it doesn’t have the grittiness of the original. And I remember being blown away by the video when I first saw it…it was just so cool (and, in my humble opinion, still is). So here’s your dose of ’90s awesomeness for the day. Thank me later.

Leave a Reply

