“It’s so precious to me…”

I have a few blog posts in the works that should technically come first, but this one just can’t wait.

I spent last night at a JD McPherson show. It’s the first time I’ve seen them at all since September of 2016, when they opened for Lucius at a few shows in Massachusetts. It’s the first time I’ve seen them headline since November of 2015, when I flew to Tulsa to see them close out that tour in JD’s hometown. And it’s the first time since July of 2015 that they’ve played in a city close to me. After spending a solid eighteen months (through some of 2014 and most of 2015) following their tours, being spoiled by a multitude of shows within reasonable driving distance, that absence – almost two years! – was excruciating. I filled the void with more travel and more music and other bands that, yes, I would come to love just as much.

But these guys…these guys are special. They’re…well, they’re precious to me. They are the ones who started it all. Standing at the foot of their stage, singing songs that are so deeply ingrained in me that I could recall every word despite not having heard them in months, tears standing in my eyes and a smile never fading from my lips…it was like coming home.

There will be more words written about them in the near future – I’m seeing them again at the end of the week – so I won’t ramble on any longer. But for now, my heart is so full and all is right with the world.

image

image

Leave a Reply

