Thankful

I think it’s safe to say that, on a large scale, this year has been spectacularly lousy. I’m utterly exhausted from the deluge of bad news we’ve had to deal with on a near-daily basis and am trying to stay optimistic that 2017 will be the start of something much, much better. But I have to admit, for me personally, 2016 wasn’t all that bad. In fact, it was pretty damned good. It might not’ve been especially easy but that’s not a bad thing either.

After years of vacillating, I finally made a concerted effort to do things that took me out of my comfort zone…and found that I quite liked it. You’re seeing the end result of one of those efforts right now – this blog, my main way to hold myself accountable with regards to my writing (which has, admittedly, has been somewhat neglected lately but is never far from my thoughts). And because the fear and uncertainty turned out to be more exhilarating and rewarding than I could ever have imagined, I kept pushing. I challenged myself, did things that scared – no, terrified – me. And even though I wasn’t always successful (actually, more often than not I failed spectacularly), I still learned and grew. I’ve been so many places, had so many new experiences, met so many amazing, dynamic people, and every one of these things has left an indelible mark on me. It’s been life-changing.

But because I’m nothing if not contradictory, I don’t know if I would have been brave enough to face this kind of this tumult if I wasn’t surrounded by people who support and believe in me wholeheartedly, if I didn’t have a steady foundation beneath my feet. My home is the place from which I draw strength, where I recharge and reflect, my refuge from the chaos. I’m so damned lucky, so thankful, that this is what awaits me at the end of every road.

So here’s to seeking and finding the things that inspire you, to opportunities, to long miles ahead with good music on the radio, to old friends and new, to loving and being loved in return. Happy Thanksgiving, everyone.

image

image

image

image

image

One thought on “Thankful

  1. It is so gratifying to read/see you have the time of your life. Even if a lot of it is without me.😜 You are an inspiration to all of us to never give up on our dreams. I am so thankful to read about you living out your dreams. Miss you babes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

